Home

Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane

Coleoptera, Scarabaeoidea

fr Volume 81
Fabien DUPUIS & Rémi PERRIN

Published on 25 June 2020

Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane

Coleoptera, Scarabaeoidea

Dynastid coleopterans are a group of spectacular insects with a particularly high number of species in moist tropical forests, and the more than 140 dynastid species recorded in French Guiana include some of the largest insects in the world. Paradoxically, however, their biology and ecology remain poorly known, and it is still today impossible to compile an exhaustive list of all the species present in South America. To bridge the gap, the authors spent over five years gathering all the information available and set up a reliable and up-to-date database. An in-depth taxonomical and systematic review was carried out to produce the precise list of the species occurring in French Guiana. Additional biological and ecological data were collected by involving the local network of entomologists, thus significantly enriching the information available on this group (distribution, seasonality, ecology of the larvae, etc.).

After an introductory chapter presenting the biology of the Dinastidae, their habitats and the methods used for observing and collecting them, the authors provide identification keys (in French and English) and exhaustive information sheets for all the species (with photographs of the habitus and drawings of the parameres to confirm the identification). In the last section of the book, the authors conclude this inventory by underlining the remaining sampling gaps and opening up perspectives for future surveys and research.

This illustrated guide to the different species encountered in French Guiana is designed to facilitate species identification and encourage future field studies. It is directed at field naturalists, professional and non-professional entomologists, managers of nature reserves and more generally anyone involved in the protection and conservation of the natural heritage of French Guiana.


Volume's quote :

DUPUIS F. & PERRIN R. 2020. — Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane : Coleoptera, Scarabaeoidea. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, 416 p. (Patrimoines naturels ; 81).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane
Technical informations :

187 colour photos; 145 maps; 292 figures and graphics; 24 keys in french an english; 165 x 240 mm ; paperback

Number of pages : 416
ISBN : 978-2-85653-889-0
Browse the book

Accueil

Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane

Coleoptera, Scarabaeoidea

fr Tome 81
Fabien DUPUIS & Rémi PERRIN

Publié le 25 juin 2020

Les Dynastidae constituent un groupe de coléoptères très spectaculaires dont la diversité est extrêmement importante dans les forêts tropicales humides. En Guyane on trouve plus de 140 espèces dont certaines font partie des plus gros insectes du monde. Paradoxalement, leur biologie ou leur écologie est très mal connue et il est actuellement impossible de dresser un inventaire complet des espèces présentes en Amérique du Sud. Pour combler cette lacune, les auteurs ont collecté pendant plus de cinq années toutes les informations disponibles afin de constituer une base de données fiable et actuelle. Un travail important de révision sur le plan taxonomique et systématique a été réalisé pour dresser une liste précise des espèces présentes en Guyane. Enfin une étroite collaboration avec un réseau d'entomologistes locaux a permis de recueillir des informations biologiques et écologiques qui font progresser de manière significative la connaissance du groupe (distribution, saisonnalité, écologie larvaire, etc.).

Après une partie introductive consacrée à la biologie des Dynastidae, à leur milieu de vie et aux méthodes d'observation et de collecte, les auteurs proposent des clés de détermination (en français et en anglais) et des fiches descriptives très complètes pour chacune des espèces (accompagnées des indispensables photos d'habitus et schémas des paramères permettant de valider les identifications réalisées). Dans une dernière partie, les auteurs tirent les bilans de cet inventaire, mettant en lumière certaines lacunes de l'échantillonnage et ouvrant des perspectives pour de futurs travaux de prospection et de recherche.

Cette faune illustrée des différentes espèces présentes en Guyane a pour vocation de faciliter l'identification des espèces et de générer dans le futur des études de terrain. Elle s'adresse aux naturalistes, aux entomologistes professionnels ou amateurs, aux gestionnaires d'espaces naturels et plus généralement à tous les acteurs impliqués dans la protection et la conservation du patrimoine naturel de Guyane.


Citation du tome :

DUPUIS F. & PERRIN R. 2020. — Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane : Coleoptera, Scarabaeoidea. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, 416 p. (Patrimoines naturels ; 81).

* Pour voir les promotions appliquées à ce produit, ajoutez-le à votre panier (voir "Mon panier")
Les Coléoptères Dynastidae de Guyane
Informations techniques :

187 photos couleur ; 145 cartes ; 292 figures et graphiques ; 24 clés de détermination en français et en anglais ; 165 x 240 mm ; broché

Nombre de pages : 416
ISBN : 978-2-85653-889-0
Feuilleter l'ouvrage