Home

Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie

Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa (1937-1938)

fr Volume 24
Edited by : Tatiana BENFOUGHAL, Olga FISHMAN & Heiki VALK

Published on 13 July 2017

Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie

Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa (1937-1938)

This book explores the history of two field missions carried out in 1937 and 1938 by Boris Vildé and Léonide Zouroff to Setomaa, a region situated on both sides of today's border between the Republic of Estonia and the Federation of Russia. Its purpose is to reveal the documents, the collections of objects and the unique photographs collected in this zone of contact between two distinct Orthodox populations: Setos, of Fennic origin, and Russians, Eastern Slavs. This journey back in time evokes both the history of the creation of the Musée de l’Homme, with its dynamic field research activities, and that of Setomaa and its cultural phenomena. To this end Tatiana Benfoughal, Olga Fishman and Heiki Valk brought together French, Estonian and Russian researchers, whose own perspectives, sometimes divergent but always complementary, make it possible to put the scientific contribution of Boris Vildé and Léonide Zouroff into a broad scientific context.

 

Tatiana Benfoughal, doctor of Ethnology, honorary research associate at the French National Museum of Natural History, is a specialist in European and North African ethnology.

Olga Fishman, a doctor of history, director of the Department of Ethnography of the North-West of Russia and of the Baltic at the Russian Museum of Ethnography in St. Petersburg, is a Finno-ougrist, a specialist in popular orthodoxy and historiography.

Heiki Valk, doctor of philosophy, director of the Archeology Cabinet at the Institute of History and Archeology at the University of Tartu (Estonia), is a specialist in medieval archeology of the Baltic regions and in history and culture of the Setos.

Foreword by Bruno David (France), Marco Kirm (Estonia), Ahto Raudoja (Estonia), Vladimir Grusman (Russia) ; translations from russian by Philippe Mennecier, translations from estonian by Éva Toulouze

Volume's quote :

Benfoughal (Tatiana), Fishman (Olga) & Valk (Heiki) (sous la dir.), Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie : Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa (1937-1938), Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2017, 859 p. (Archives ; 24).

Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie Price :
45,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie

Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa (1937-1938)

fr Tome 24
Coordonné par : Tatiana BENFOUGHAL, Olga FISHMAN & Heiki VALK

Publié le 13 juillet 2017

Ce livre explore l’histoire des deux missions de terrain effectuées en 1937 et 1938 par Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa, une région située aujourd’hui de part et d’autre de la frontière entre la République d’Estonie et la Fédération de Russie. Il a pour but de faire connaître les documents, les collections d’objets et les photographies uniques se rapportant à ces missions dans une zone de contacts entre deux populations orthodoxes distinctes : les Setos, d’origine fennique, et les Russes, Slaves orientaux. Ce voyage dans le temps évoque à la fois l’histoire de la création du Musée de l’Homme, avec ses activités intenses de recherche de terrain, et celle du Setomaa et de ses phénomènes culturels. Pour ce faire Tatiana Benfoughal, Olga Fishman et Heiki Valk ont réuni des chercheurs français, estoniens et russes dont les regards croisés, parfois divergents mais toujours complémentaires, permettent de replacer l’apport scientifique de Boris Vildé et de Léonide Zouroff dans un large contexte scientifique.

Docteur en ethnologie, attachée honoraire au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle (Musée de l’Homme), Tatiana Benfoughal est une spécialiste de l’ethnologie européenne et nord-africaine.

Docteur en histoire, directrice du Département d’ethnographie du Nord-Ouest de la Russie et de la Baltique au Musée russe d’ethnographie à Saint-Pétersbourg, Olga Fishman est une finno-ougriste, spécialiste de l’orthodoxie populaire et de l’historiographie.

Docteur en philosophie, directeur du Cabinet d’archéologie à l’Institut d’histoire et d’archéologie de l’Université de Tartu (Estonie), Heiki Valk est un spécialiste de l’archéologie médiévale des régions baltiques et de l’histoire et de la culture des Setos.

Avant-propos de Bruno David (France), Marco Kirm (Estonie), Ahto Raudoja (Estonie), Vladimir Grusman (Russie) ; coordination éditoriale de Philippe Mennecier ; traductions du russe par Philippe Mennecier, traductions de l’estonien par Éva Toulouze

Citation du tome :

Benfoughal (Tatiana), Fishman (Olga) & Valk (Heiki) (sous la dir.), Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie : Boris Vildé et Léonide Zouroff au Setomaa (1937-1938), Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2017, 859 p. (Archives ; 24).

Missions du Musée de l'Homme en Estonie Prix :
45,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage