Home

Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836)

fabrique d'une science botanique

fr Volume 31
Gilles GENEIX

Published on 31 December 2022

On August 4th 1789, the day feudal rights and privileges were abolished in France, Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu published the Genera Plantarum. This book, written in Latin and never translated into French, was his great work, painstakingly written over fifteen years of detailed and systematic examination of all the plants and naturalist materials to which he had access as professor of botany at the Jardin du roi. It was a major turning point in a century of research and controversy on the classification of the plant world, and it paved the way for the European movement of synthesis and integration of the ordering of living organisms with the science that studies how they work.

This biography of Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu seeks to portray the botanist physician in interaction with his colleagues and the world, to follow the development of his thought, to retrace the progression of his scientific approach, his ongoing socialization, as well as to identify the technical, epistemological and social resources that he mobilized for his scholarly output and his interventions in the field of natural history. Beyond the life story of the scholar, Gilles Geneix above all traces the biography of a book, the Genera Plantarum: its construction, genealogy, global environment, authority, its intellectual life and erasure and, finally, its lasting legacy.

This study of scholarly practices and productions in the various callings of botanists, naturalists, physicists, chemists, physiologists, physicians or philosophers, is a form of history of the beginnings of European botany when it was emerging as a global science of plants from out of the nebula of natural philosophy, natural history and medicine.

Finally, the reader will also find the first French translation of the Prologue and Introduction of the Genera Plantarum, as well as Jussieu's thesis in medicine of 1770.

Gilles Geneix has a PhD in history of science from the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales. He is also an engineer and has a university degree in botany. Independent researcher attached to the Centre Alexandre Koyré (EHESS, CNRS, MNHN), his research focuses on history of science and naturalist knowledge from the eighteenth to the early nineteenth centuries. This book is based on his PhD dissertation presented to the EHESS in February 2020.

Foreword by Jean-Luc Chappey

Citation:

Geneix Gilles 2022 — Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836) : fabrique d’une science botanique. Paris : Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, 727 p. (Archives ; 31).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836)
Browse the book

Accueil

Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836)

fabrique d'une science botanique

fr Tome 31
Gilles GENEIX

Publié le 31 décembre 2022

Le 4 août 1789, jour de l’abolition en France des droits féodaux et des privilèges, Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu publie le Genera Plantarum. Ce livre, rédigé en latin et jamais traduit, constitue son grand-œuvre, lentement construit durant une quinzaine d’années d’examen détaillé et systématique de l’ensemble des plantes et des matériaux naturalistes auxquels il a accès en tant que professeur de botanique au Jardin du roi. Point d’évolution majeur d’un siècle de recherches et de controverses sur la classification du monde végétal, il préparera le mouvement européen de synthèse et d’intégration de la mise en ordre du vivant avec la science qui en étudie le fonctionnement.

Cette biographie d’Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu propose de saisir le médecin botaniste en interaction avec le monde et ses semblables, de cerner sa pensée en train de s’élaborer, de retracer son cheminement scientifique, sa socialisation progressive, et d’identifier les ressources techniques, épistémologiques et sociales qu’il mobilise pour sa production savante et ses interventions dans le champ naturaliste. Au-delà de l’histoire de vie du savant, Gilles Geneix trace également, et peut-être avant tout, la biographie d’un livre : celle de sa formation, de son environnement, de ses parentés, de son autorité, de sa vie et de son effacement, et de l’héritage qu’il a laissé.

Cette étude des productions et des pratiques de savants, qu’ils se disent botanophiles, botanistes, naturalistes, physiciens, chimistes, physiologistes, médecins ou philosophes, compose une forme d’histoire de la botanique européenne au moment où elle se constitue comme science globale du végétal, à partir d’un archipel de savoirs issus principalement de la philosophie naturelle, de l’histoire naturelle et de la médecine.

En complément, sont proposées les premières traductions du Prologue et de l’Introduction du Genera Plantarum, ainsi que de la thèse de médecine de Jussieu de 1770.

Gilles Geneix est docteur en histoire des sciences de l’EHESS. Il est également ingénieur et titulaire d’un DU de botanique. Chercheur indépendant rattaché au Centre Alexandre Koyré (EHESS, CNRS, MNHN), ses recherches portent sur l’histoire des sciences et des savoirs naturalistes au xvıııe et xıxe siècle. Le présent ouvrage est issu de sa thèse soutenue en février 2020 à l’EHESS.

Préface de Jean-Luc Chappey

Citation du tome :

Geneix Gilles 2022 — Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836) : fabrique d’une science botanique. Paris : Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, 727 p. (Archives ; 31).

* Pour voir les promotions appliquées à ce produit, ajoutez-le à votre panier (voir "Mon panier")
Antoine-Laurent de Jussieu (1748-1836)
Feuilleter l'ouvrage