Home

Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1

Mammifères marins

fr Volume 74
Edited by : Audrey SAVOURÉ-SOUBELET, Stéphane AULAGNIER, Patrick HAFFNER, François MOUTOU, Olivier VAN CANNEYT, Jean-Benoît CHARRASSIN & Vincent RIDOUX

Published on 30 December 2016

Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1

Mammifères marins

With the second largest exclusive economic zone in the world (in excess of 11 000 000 km2), the metropolitan and overseas territories of France are host to 71 species of marine mammals. This book – the first of a series focusing on the wild mammals of France – marks a considerable progress in knowledge on the distribution of the 16 Carnivora, 53 Cetartiodactyla and 2 Sirenia found in the French waters. It synthesizes over 90 000 observation data collected since 2000 by some thirty agencies.

This volume is organized in two complementary main sections. In the first, species monographs provide scientists and naturalists with up-to-date information on the distribution, biology, population dynamics, threats and ongoing monitoring and management actions for each species. In the second part, in order to meet the needs of managers and administrative authorities, geographical monographs offer a summarized presentation of nine oceanic regions and the species found in each of them: North-East Atlantic (metropolitan France), North-West Atlantic (Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon), Tropical Atlantic (French Antilles), Equatorial Atlantic (French Guiana), Tropical Indian Ocean (La Réunion, Mayotte and the Scattered Islands), Subtropical Indian Ocean and the north of the Southern Ocean (Saint-Paul, Amsterdam and the French subantarctic islands), Southern Ocean (Terre Adélie), South Pacific (New Caledonia, Wallis-and-Futuna, French Polynesia) and North Pacific (Clipperton).

The book also includes a summary of the different legal tools in place for the protection and conservation of these species.

Foreword by Stéphane Aulagnier and Jean-Philippe Siblet

Volume's quote :

SAVOURÉ-SOUBELET A., AULAGNIER S., HAFFNER P., MOUTOU F., VAN CANNEYT O., CHARRASSIN J.‑B. & RIDOUX V. (coord.) 2016. — Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1 : Mammifères marins. Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris ; IRD, Marseille, 480 p. (Patrimoines naturels ; 74)

Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1 Price :
46,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1

Mammifères marins

fr Tome 74
Coordonné par : Audrey SAVOURÉ-SOUBELET, Stéphane AULAGNIER, Patrick HAFFNER, François MOUTOU, Olivier VAN CANNEYT, Jean‑Benoît CHARRASSIN & Vincent RIDOUX

Publié le 30 décembre 2016

Deuxième plus grande zone économique exclusive du monde (plus de 11000000 km2), la France – métropole et outre-mer – héberge 71 espèces de mammifères marins. Premier ­volume d’une ­série consacrée aux mammifères sauvages de France, cet ouvrage marque un progrès consi­dérable de nos connaissances sur la répartition des 16 carni­vores, 53 cétartiodactyles et 2 siréniens peuplant les eaux françaises. Il synthétise plus de 90 000 données d’observation récoltées depuis 2000 par une trentaine de structures.
Ce volume est composé de deux parties complémentaires. D’une part, des monographies spécifiques permettent aux chercheurs et naturalistes d’accéder à une information à jour sur la répartition des espèces, leur biologie, leur dynamique de population, les menaces qu’elles ­subissent ainsi que les suivis et mesures de gestion déjà mis en place. D’autre part, répondant aux ­attentes des gestionnaires et des administrations, des monographies géographiques présentent succinctement neuf régions océaniques et les espèces qui s’y trouvent : l’Atlantique Nord-Est (métropole), l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest (Saint-Pierre-et-­Miquelon), l’Atlantique tropical (Antilles), l’Atlantique équatorial (Guyane), l’océan Indien tropical (la Réunion, Mayotte et les îles Éparses), l’océan Indien subtropical et le nord de l’océan ­Austral (Saint-Paul, Amsterdam et les îles subantarctiques), l’océan Austral (Terre Adélie), le Pacifique Sud (Nouvelle-­Calédonie, Wallis-et-Futuna, Polynésie française) et le Pacifique Nord (Clipperton).
En complément de ces monographies, l’ouvrage comprend une synthèse des différents outils de protection juridique et de conservation des espèces.

Préfaces de Stéphane Aulagnier et Jean-Philippe Siblet

Citation du tome :

SAVOURÉ-SOUBELET A., AULAGNIER S., HAFFNER P., MOUTOU F., VAN CANNEYT O., CHARRASSIN J.‑B. & RIDOUX V. (coord.) 2016. — Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1 : Mammifères marins. Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris ; IRD, Marseille, 480 p. (Patrimoines naturels ; 74)

Atlas des mammifères sauvages de France volume 1 Prix :
46,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage