Home

Living and working with giants

a multispecies ethnography of the Khamti and elephants in Northeast India

en Volume 2
Nicolas LAINÉ

Published on 26 November 2020

This book proposes a multispecies ethnography of human-elephant working relationships in Northeast India, in the local context of the Khamti population. Based on an extended research fieldwork, it analyses not only people’s action but also animal involvement in ­establishing and maintaining trusting relationships at the workplace. Thanks to Nicolas Lainé rich descriptions, the reader can follow the capture of a juvenile forest elephant, and understand its ­transformation into a village elephant as a reciprocal process. Both cognitive capacities and corporeal capabilities of humans and ­elephants are taken into consideration, as well as their mutual influences and the representations that arise from the specific contexts of interspecies communication and collaboration. The adopted multidisciplinary approach allows thinking the human-animal working unit in terms of cooperative interaction, and even intersubjective engagement —opening to reflexions on the mutually beneficial modalities of existence of humans and animals in a shared environment.

“Living and Working with Giants is a critical intervention in thinking about the Anthropocene —and I use the term Plantationocene to mark the significance of Lainé’s work— for it shows how various forms of forestry and the capture and taming of wildlife were contingent on both human and elephant labour. [...] Tracking surviving modes of elephant capture among the Khamti community in Arunachal Pradesh and adjacent Assam in northeast India, ­Lainé’s scholarship is multispecies ethnography in its best sense. [...] [He] prompts us to ­rethink the forms of discipline and the ­subjectivities that colonial and ­postcolonial ­regimes produced” (Maan Barua, University of Cambridge).


Nicolas Lainé holds a PhD in Ethnology from Paris West University (2014). He is currently a postdoctoral research fellow at the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD/UMR Paloc) and a postdoctoral research associate at the Research Institute of Contemporary Southeast Asia (IRASEC) in Bangkok. He is also a member of the International Multidisciplinary Thematic Network “Biodiversity, Health, and Societies in Southeast Asia”, supported by CNRS-InEE (National Institute of Ecology and Environment, France), and serves as an expert member of the IUCN SSC Asian Elephant Specialist Group. His research focuses on human-animal relations in Asia, the links between health and biocultural diversity, and the decolonization of science.

Foreword by Maan Barua

Volume's quote :

Lainé Nicolas 2020 — Living and working with giants: a multispecies ethnography of the Khamti and elephants in Northeast India. Paris : Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, 272 p. (Natures en Sociétés ; 2).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Living and working with giants
Number of pages : 272
ISBN : 9782856539286
Technical informations :

Proposed version:
ePub and PDF files
Language: English
​42 figures

ISBN : 9782856539293
ISBN : 9782856539309
Browse the book

Accueil

Living and working with giants

a multispecies ethnography of the Khamti and elephants in Northeast India

en Tome 2
Nicolas LAINÉ

Publié le 26 novembre 2020

S’appuyant sur une recherche de terrain approfondie dans le nord-est de l'Inde, au sein de la population Khamti, cet ouvrage propose une ethnographie multi-espèces des relations de travail hommes-éléphants qui s’y déploient encore. L’auteur analyse non seulement l’action humaine mais également l'implication animale dans la mise en place et le maintien de ces relations de travail. Grâce aux descriptions riches et vivantes de Nicolas Lainé, le lecteur est en mesure de suivre et de comprendre l’ensemble du processus, de la capture d'un jeune éléphant de forêt à sa transformation en éléphant de village, comme une dynamique d'engagements réciproques. Les capacités cognitives et corporelles à la fois des humains et des éléphants sont prises en considération, ainsi que leurs influences mutuelles et les représentations qui découlent des contextes de communication et de collaboration manifestes entre les espèces. Cette approche multidisciplinaire permet alors de penser l'unité de travail homme-animal en termes d'interaction collaborative, voire d'engagement intersubjectif —ouvrant la voie à des réflexions sur les modalités mutuellement bénéfiques de l'existence des humains et des animaux dans un environnement partagé.

Living and Working with Giants est une intervention critique pour penser l’Anthropocène —et j’utilise le terme Plantationocène pour marquer l'importance du travail de Lainé— car il montre comment les différentes formes de sylviculture, la capture et l’apprivoisement de la faune étaient tributaires du travail des hommes et des éléphants. [...] En suivant les modes de capture d’éléphants qui ont survécu dans la communauté Khamti de l’Arunachal Pradesh et dans l’Assam adjacent au nord-est de l’Inde, le travail de Lainé est une ethnographie multi-espèces dans son meilleur sens. Il nous incite à repenser les formes de discipline et les subjectivités que les régimes coloniaux et postcoloniaux ont produites” (Maan Barua, Université de Cambridge).

Nicolas Lainé est titulaire d'un doctorat en ethnologie de l’Université Paris Ouest (2014). Il est actuellement chercheur postdoctoral à l'Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD) au sein de l’UMR Paloc (Patrimoines locaux, environnement et globalisation) au Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, à Paris, et postdoctorant associé à l'Irasec (Institut de Recherche de l'Asie du Sud-Est Contemporaine) à Bangkok. Il est membre du réseau thématique international multidisciplinaire « Biodiversité, santé et sociétés en Asie du Sud-Est », soutenu par le CNRS-InEE (Institut national de l'écologie et de l'environnement, France), et est membre expert du groupe de spécialistes de l'éléphant d'Asie de la CSE (Commission de survie des espèces) de l'UICN (Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature). Ses recherches portent sur les relations homme-animal en Asie, les liens entre diversité bioculturelle et santé, et la décolonisation des sciences.

Préface de Maan Barua

Citation du tome :

Lainé Nicolas 2020 — Living and working with giants: a multispecies ethnography of the Khamti and elephants in Northeast India. Paris : Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, 272 p. (Natures en Sociétés ; 2).

* Pour voir les promotions appliquées à ce produit, ajoutez-le à votre panier (voir "Mon panier")
Living and working with giants
Nombre de pages : 272
ISBN : 9782856539286
Informations techniques :

Version proposée :
fichiers ePub et PDF
Langue : Anglais
41 figures

ISBN : 9782856539293
ISBN : 9782856539309
Feuilleter l'ouvrage