Home

Zoologia Neocaledonica 8

Biodiversity studies in New Caledonia

en Volume 206
Edited by : Éric GUILBERT, Tony ROBILLARD, Hervé JOURDAN & Philippe GRANDCOLAS

Published on 31 October 2014

The Mémoires du Muséum publish the eighth volume of the series Zoologia Neocaledonica, dealing with the study of the fauna of New Caledonia, one of the « hot spots » of biodiversity in the Southern hemisphere. More than ever, the study of biodiversity in this megadiverse island is a current question. On the one hand, a growing number of molecular phylogenies bring crucial information about the origin and the evolution of local biodiversity. On the other hand, this biodiversity is more and more threatened by multiple landscape uses and its deleterious consequences. In this context, systematic studies like those  of Zoologia Neocaledonica are strongly needed as both a background and a primary source of knowledge, invaluable for evolutionary studies and land management policies.

This volume comprises 19 contributions bearing on Lizards, Fishes and diverse Insects, with the description of many species new to Science, taking into account more than one hundred taxa from New Caledonia.

Éric Guilbert and Tony Robillard are Maître de conférences at the Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle and they study respectively systematics and evolution of lace bugs and crickets. Hervé Jourdan, Ingénieur de recherche at Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, Nouméa, studies the ecology and evolution of native and invasive species in New Caledonia. Philippe Grandcolas, Directeur de recherche CNRS at the Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, studies the phylogeny and the evolution of insects. He has been in charge of teams, programs and grants devoted to the study of New Caledonian biodiversity.


Volume's quote :

GUILBERT É., ROBILLARD T., JOURDAN H. & GRANDCOLAS P. (eds) 2014  — Zoologia Neocaledonica 8: Biodiversity studies in New Caledonia. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, 315 p. (Mémoires du Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle ; 206).

Zoologia Neocaledonica 8 Price :
89,00 €

Accueil

Zoologia Neocaledonica 8

Biodiversity studies in New Caledonia

en Tome 206
Coordonné par : Éric GUILBERT, Tony ROBILLARD, Hervé JOURDAN & Philippe GRANDCOLAS

Publié le 31 octobre 2014

Les Mémoires du Muséum publient le huitième volume de la série Zoologia Neocaledonica, consacrée à l’étude de la faune de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, un des « points sensibles » de la biodiversité dans l’hémisphère Sud. Plus que jamais, l’étude de la biodiversité de cette île est d’actualité. D’une part, des études de phylogénies moléculaires en nombre croissant apportent des informations cruciales sur l’origine de la biodiversité locale. D’autre part, cette biodiversité est de plus en plus menacée de disparition, face à l’utilisation du milieu et à ses conséquences. Dans cette situation, les études systématiques des Zoologia Neocaledonica apportent à la fois des connaissances fondamentales et une mise en contexte indispensables aux études de biologie de l’évolution et aux politiques d’aménagement.

Ce volume comprend 19 articles consacrées aux Lézards, Poissons et divers Insectes avec la description de nombreuses espèces nouvelles pour la science, et la prise en compte de plus de 100 taxons en Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Éric Guilbert et Tony Robillard sont Maîtres de conférences au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, ils étudient respectivement la systématique et l’évolution des punaises dentelières et des grillons. Hervé Jourdan, Ingénieur de recherche à l’Institut de Recherche pour le Développement à Nouméa, étudie l’écologie et l’évolution des espèces natives et invasives en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Philippe Grandcolas, Directeur de recherche CNRS au Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, étudie la phylogénie et l’évolution des Insectes. Ses recherches l’ont conduit à assumer la responsabilité de plusieurs structures de recherche dédiées à l’étude de l’origine de la biodiversité en Nouvelle-Calédonie.


Citation du tome :

GUILBERT É., ROBILLARD T., JOURDAN H. & GRANDCOLAS P. (eds) 2014  — Zoologia Neocaledonica 8: Biodiversity studies in New Caledonia. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris, 315 p. (Mémoires du Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle ; 206).

Zoologia Neocaledonica 8 Prix :
89,00 €