Home

Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos volume 30

Chirostylidae of the Western and Central Pacific: Uroptychus and a new genus (Crustacea: Decapoda: Anomura)

en Volume 212
Keiji BABA

Published on 14 September 2018

Squat lobsters of the genus Uroptychus Henderson, 1888 and a herein proposed new genus Heteroptychus (Anomura: Chirostylidae) from the Western and Central Pacific are reported based upon the material now in the collection of the Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris. The material consists of 3,784 specimens distributed among 152 species in the two genera, including 100 new species of Uroptychus and six new species of Heteroptychus. Heteroptychus n. gen. is established for Uroptychus scambus Benedict, 1902 and eight related species including one western Atlantic species. Uroptychus edwardi Kensley, 1977 (now transferred to Heteroptychus), previously synonymized with U. scambus, is resurrected. The number of species of Uroptychus from the Indo-West and Central Pacific now stands at 219. One hundred twenty-six species of Uroptychus and six of Heteroptychus occur in New Caledonia and its vicinity (northward to the Solomon Islands, southward to the Norfolk Ridge, and eastward to Fiji and Tonga). Somewhat lengthy diagnoses are provided for previously known species in order to accurately characterize their specific status, and for some known species and new species, full descriptions are given. A key to species is provided for Uroptychus from the Indo-West Pacific and Central Pacific, and for Heteroptychus worldwide. For the purpose of elaborating on the specific status of a number of known species that were briefly described, their type materials were examined, and their characters are incorporated in the key to species.

Keiji Baba, professor emeritus at Kumamoto University, Japan, has been working with decapod crustaceans, focusing on the taxonomy of his favorite squat lobsters.  He has also worked on stenopodideans and larval development of crabs and hermit crabs.


Volume's quote :

BABA K. 2018 — Chirostylidae of the Western and Central Pacific: Uroptychus and a new genus (Crustacea: Decapoda: Anomura), in Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos 30. Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, 612 p. (Mémoires du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle ; 212)

Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos volume 30 Price :
89,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos volume 30

Chirostylidae of the Western and Central Pacific: Uroptychus and a new genus (Crustacea: Decapoda: Anomura)

en Tome 212
Keiji BABA

Publié le 14 septembre 2018

Les galathées du genre Uroptychus Henderson, 1888 et du genre Heteroptychus n. gen. (Anomura: Chirostylidae) décrites ici sont issues du matériel de la collection du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle de Paris, provenant du Pacifique Ouest et Central. Ce matériel comprend 3,784 spécimens représentant un total de 152 espèces dont 100 espèces d’Uroptychus et 6 espèces d’Heteroptychus, nouvelles pour la science. Le genre Heteroptychus n. gen. a été établi pour l’espèce Uroptychus scambus Benedict, 1902 et 8 espèces relatives dont une espèce de l’Atlantique Ouest. Uroptychus edwardi Kensley, 1977 (maintenant placé dans le genre Heteroptychus), précédemment synonymisé avec U. scambus, est désormais ré-établi. Les espèces d’Uroptychus de l’Indo-Ouest Pacifique et Central sont désormais connues de 219 espèces avec un total de 126 espèces d’Uroptychus et six Heteroptychus présentes en Nouvelle Calédonie et ses environs (du nord, des îles Salomons vers le sud, la ride de Norfolk en passant par l’est des îles Tonga aux îles Fidji). Les diagnoses de certaines espèces déjà établies sont également décrites dans cette étude afin de définir de manière précise leur statut. Les descriptions des espèces nouvelles et déjà connues sont également détaillées. Une clé des espèces du genre Uroptychus est fournie pour l’Indo-Ouest Pacifique et Central ainsi que pour les espèces du nouveau genre Heteroptychus au niveau mondial. Le matériel type des espèces connues et dont le statut a été révisé, a été examiné et leurs caractères diagnostiques ont été incorporés dans la clé des espèces.

Keiji Baba, professeur émérite à l'Université de Kumamoto, Japon, travaille sur les crustacés décapode. Il est spécialiste de la taxonomie des galathées.  Il a également travaillé sur les Stenopodidés et le développement larvaire des crabes et des bernard l'hermite.


Citation du tome :

BABA K. 2018 — Chirostylidae of the Western and Central Pacific: Uroptychus and a new genus (Crustacea: Decapoda: Anomura), in Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos 30. Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Paris, 612 p. (Mémoires du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle ; 212)

Tropical Deep-Sea Benthos volume 30 Prix :
89,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage