Home

Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France


fr Volume 11
Vincent PRIÉ

Published on 12 December 2017

Freshwater bivalves are animals with little charisma, often difficult to observe and with which naturalists are rarely familiar. Some tell extraordinary tales, however. Certain species have a lifespan of 280 years and are in a position to record two centuries of the history of French rivers. Due to their reproduction cycle requiring the intervention of a host fish, the Unionoida are very mobile during the initial stages of their life – quite the opposite of the Sphaeriidae (orb mussels), which are viviparous and whose juveniles are protected inside their parent’s valves for the beginning of their development. Much has been written about freshwater shells and pearls, and they appear in many historical reports.

In pristine ecosystems, freshwater mussels can make up more than 90 % of the benthic biomass - but they have declined at an alarming rate over the 20th century, and it is difficult to imagine today how the rivers of France looked like at the time when hundreds of thousands of bivalves were continuously filtrating the water.

This guide proposes an extensive overview of the freshwater bivalve species present in France, including a general presentation of the group as well as monographs for each species. May it inspire all those who use and manage streams and rivers to protect these sentinels of our country’s fresh waters.


Volume's quote :

PRIÉ V. 2017. — Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; Biotope, Mèze, 336 p. (Inventaires & biodiversité ; 11).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France
Browse the book

Accueil

Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France


fr Tome 11
Vincent PRIÉ

Publié le 12 décembre 2017

Les bivalves d’eau douce sont des animaux peu charismatiques, souvent difficiles à observer et mal connus des naturalistes. Pourtant, ils peuvent nous raconter des histoires naturelles extraordinaires. Certaines espèces vivent jusqu’à 280 ans et peuvent donc témoigner de deux siècles d’histoire des rivières de France. Le cycle reproductif des Naïades, avec l’intervention d’un poisson-hôte, en fait des animaux très mobiles pendant les premiers stades de leur vie. Au contraire, les Cyclades sont vivipares et les adultes protègent les juvéniles à l’abri de leurs valves pendant leur première phase de croissance. Les coquilles et les perles ont fait couler beaucoup d’encre et on dispose de nombreux témoignages historiques à leur sujet.

Alors qu’elles peuvent constituer plus de 90 % de la biomasse benthique dans des écosystèmes préservés, les Naïades ont régressé d’une manière alarmante au cours du XXe siècle et il est difficile d’imaginer ce que pouvaient être les rivières de France à l’époque où des centaines de milliers de bivalves filtraient leurs eaux en permanence.

Ce guide propose un panorama sur les espèces de bivalves d’eau douce de France, avec une présentation générale et des monographies pour chaque espèce. Puisse-t-il sensibiliser les usagers et les gestionnaires de nos rivières à la protection de ces sentinelles des eaux douces de France.


Citation du tome :
PRIÉ V. 2017. — Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; Biotope, Mèze, 336 p. (Inventaires & biodiversité ; 11).
Naïades et autres bivalves d'eau douce de France Prix :
49,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage