Home

Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises


fr Volume 6
Jean-François BERNARD, Élisabeth ÉTIFIER-CHALONO, Philippe FELDMANN, Jean-Pierre FIARD, Jacques FOURNET, Joël JEREMIE, Félix LUREL, Alain ROUSTEAU & Claude SASTRE

Published on 15 December 2014

Red Book of threatened plants of the French Antilles


This Red Book of threatened plants of the French Antilles is the outcome of some thirty years of floristic and environmental surveys on Guadeloupe and Martinique islands. It is the first Red Book specially dedicated to the endangered flora of a particular French region with strict adherence to the methodology proposed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) in 2001. It comes therefore as the natural sequel to the IUCN’s Red List of threatened plants of the French Antilles. Its preparation involved a seven-year-long cooperation between some fifteen botanists, all specialized in the local flora, either free-lance or from a variety of scientific agencies both in the French Antilles and in mainland France (Conservatoire botanique des îles de Guadeloupe, Conservatoire botanique de Martinique, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, CIRAD, INRA, Antilles and Guiana University).
The book presents the 187 taxa considered the most threatened with extinction in Guadeloupe and Martinique. Each taxon is described in detail, with photographs, range maps and information on the current state and trends of natural populations. In order to foster better protection and preservation of these natural populations, each taxon’s information sheet gives an account of the gravest threats and their causes as well as suggestions for conservation measures.
The Red Book of threatened plants of the French Antilles will no doubt prove of great use to those with responsibility for sustainable economic development in the French Antilles or for the management and conservation of the natural heritage.

Foreword by Jean-Philippe Siblet

Volume's quote :

BERNARD J.-F., ÉTIFIER-CHALONO É., FELDMANN P., FIARD J.-P., FOURNET J., JÉRÉMIE J., LUREL F., ROUSTEAU A. & SASTRE C. 2014. — Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; Biotope, Mèze, 464 p. (Inventaires & biodiversité ; 6).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises
Browse the book

Accueil

Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises


fr Tome 6
Jean-François BERNARD, Élisabeth ÉTIFIER-CHALONO, Philippe FELDMANN, Jean-Pierre FIARD, Jacques FOURNET, Joël JÉRÉMIE, Félix LUREL, Alain ROUSTEAU & Claude SASTRE

Publié le 15 décembre 2014

Le Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises est l’aboutissement de près de trente années d’inventaires floristiques et d’expertises environnementales appliqués à la flore de la Guadeloupe et de la Martinique. Il s’agit du premier livre rouge ayant pour sujet la flore menacée d’une région française et appliquant strictement la méthodologie créée en 2001 par l’Union internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (UICN). Il constitue ainsi la suite logique de la Liste rouge des végétaux aux Antilles françaises de l’UICN. La rédaction aura mobilisé une quinzaine de botanistes pendant près de sept années, tant aux Antilles françaises qu’en métropole, appartenant à différentes institutions scientifiques (Conservatoire botanique des îles de Guadeloupe, Conservatoire botanique de Martinique, Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, CIRAD, INRA, université des Antilles et de la Guyane) ou bien indépendants, tous experts de la flore antillaise.

Cet ouvrage présente les 187 taxons considérés comme les plus menacés d’extinction en Guadeloupe et en Martinique. Chacun de ces taxons fait l’objet d’une fiche descriptive complète, avec photographies et cartes de répartition, informant de l’état et de la tendance actuelle des populations naturelles. Afin que ces populations végétales soient mieux protégées et sauvegardées, ces fiches donnent des explications sur les menaces les plus graves et leurs causes ainsi que des propositions de mesures de conservation pour l’avenir.

Le Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises sera une aide précieuse pour les acteurs politiques du développement durable et de l’aménagement des Antilles françaises, ainsi que pour les gestionnaires et les conservateurs du patrimoine naturel.

Préface de Jean-Philippe Siblet

Citation du tome :

BERNARD J.-F., ÉTIFIER-CHALONO É., FELDMANN P., FIARD J.-P., FOURNET J., JÉRÉMIE J., LUREL F., ROUSTEAU A. & SASTRE C. 2014. — Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; Biotope, Mèze, 464 p. (Inventaires & biodiversité ; 6).

Livre rouge des plantes menacées aux Antilles françaises Prix :
50,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage