Home

Cunoniaceae

Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, volume 26

fr Volume 45
Helen C. Fortune HOPKINS, Yohan PILLON & Ruurd D. HOOGLAND

Published on 24 December 2014

The flora of New Caledonia is noted worldwide for its exceptional diversity of 3 371 native vascular plant species, of which three-quarters are endemic. The originality of this flora is remarkable at the higher taxonomic levels (three endemic families and close to one hundred endemic genera), and made even more so by the high proportion of primitive or unusual lineages such as a parasitic conifer and plants that accumulate heavy metals. Certain species are still awaiting description and research programmes are needed to better understand the source of this diversity and to contribute to its conservation.
This new addition to the Flora of New Caledonia, jointly published by the Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle and the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD, Research Institute for Development), is a monograph on New Caledonian Cunoniaceae. This family comprises 350 species, mostly distributed in the southern hemisphere, and is particularly well represented in New Caledonia, with 91 species, all endemic, belonging to seven genera: Codia, Cunonia, Geissois, Hooglandia, Pancheria, Spiraeanthemum and Weinmannia.
The book begins with a general description of the family and continues with that of each genus and species, accompanied with illustrated identification keys and numerous range maps, line drawings and photographs. Both attractive and thorough, this flora is bound to remain for many years the international reference for New Caledonian Cunoniaceae.


Volume's quote :

HOPKINS H. C. F., PILLON Y. & HOOGLAND R. D. 2014. — Cunoniaceae. Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, volume 26. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; IRD, Marseille, 455 p. (Faune et Flore tropicales ; 45).

* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Cunoniaceae
Technical informations :

Proposed version:
PDF file
Language: French

ISBN : 978-2-85653-942-2
ISBN : 978-2-85653-943-9
Browse the book

Accueil

Cunoniaceae

Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, volume 26

fr Tome 45
Helen C. F. HOPKINS, Yohan PILLON & Ruurd D. HOOGLAND

Publié le 24 décembre 2014

La flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie est mondialement connue pour son exceptionnelle richesse avec quelque 3 371 espèces indigènes de plantes vasculaires dont les 3/4 sont endémiques du territoire. L’originalité de cette flore est remarquable, tant aux niveaux taxonomiques supérieurs (une centaine de genres et trois familles endémiques) que par la concentration de lignées primitives ou inhabituelles tel un conifère parasite, ou de plantes accumulatrices de métaux lourds. Des espèces restent encore à décrire et des programmes de recherche sont nécessaires pour mieux comprendre l’origine de cette diversité et contribuer à sa préservation.
Ce nouvel ouvrage de la Flore de Nouvelle-Calédonie, publié conjointement par le Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle et l’Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, est une monographie sans précédent des Cunoniaceae de Nouvelle-Calédonie. Cette famille de près de 350 espèces, de répartition essentiellement australe, est particulièrement bien représentée sur le Territoire, où ont été recensées 91 espèces, toutes endémiques, réparties en sept genres : Codia, Cunonia, Geissois, Hooglandia, Pancheria, Spiraeanthemum, Weinmannia.
Après une présentation générale de la famille, la description de chaque genre et des espèces qu’il comporte est accompagnée de clés d’identification nombreuses et illustrées, de cartes de répartition, de dessins au trait. L’ensemble est enrichi par de nombreuses photographies. Aussi détaillée qu’attractive, cette flore restera la référence internationale sur les Cunoniaceae de Nouvelle-Calédonie pendant de nombreuses années.


Citation du tome :

HOPKINS H. C. F., PILLON Y. & HOOGLAND R. D. 2014. — Cunoniaceae : Flore de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, volume 26. Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, Paris ; IRD, Marseille, 455 p. (Faune et Flore tropicales ; 45).

Cunoniaceae Prix :
59,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage