Home

Charles Plumier (1646-1704) and His Drawings of French and Caribbean Fishes


en fr Volume 6
Theodore W. PIETSCH

Published on 13 October 2017

Never was a man so denied a place in history than Father Charles Plumier. Craftsman, illustrator, and engraver, but best known for his work as a botanist, Plumier devoted the better part of his life to collecting and illustrating plants and animals. Working nearly a century before the great eighteen-century describers of the untold number of new organisms flooding into Europe at the time, the major credit for Plumier’s contributions to botany and zoology was given to others. Born at Marseille in 1646, Plumier was initially trained at the Convent of the Minims in mathematics and the physical sciences, but soon turned his attention to natural history, taking on the study of botany with great enthusiasm. He so impressed his superiors as a botanist, as well as through his extraordinary talents as an illustrator and engraver, that in 1689 he was appointed naturalist on an expedition to the French possessions in the Antilles for the purpose of collecting objects of natural history. The great success of this voyage, followed by two additional expeditions to the West Indies, provided a life-long pension, and earned him the title of “Botaniste du Roy.” Often ill and always anxious about the publication of his work, Plumier spent the last years of his life in his cell at the Minim Convent La Place Royale in Paris compiling his notes and drawings and preparing manuscripts for the press. While on his way to Peru to discover the tree that produces quinine, he suffered a sudden attack of pleurisy and died on 20 November 1704 at the age of 58. Plumier’s legacy survives in an enormous body of iconographic material still extant in the collections of the Bibliothèque Centrale du Museum national d’Histoire naturelle in Paris. While his botanical contributions have been described in some detail and many of his plant drawings have been published, his influence on zoology has been relatively unexplored and his animal drawings remain largely unpublished until now. This volume, the first of a series of monographs planned for the near future, designed to bring Plumier’s extraordinary work to light, imparts life to images that have been essentially lost from public view for more than three centuries.

Theodore W. Pietsch is Professor Emeritus in the School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, and Curator Emeritus of Fishes at the Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, University of Washington. He is interested primarily in marine ichthyology, focusing on the relationships, evolutionary history, functional morphology, and reproductive biology of teleost fishes. He has also published extensively on the history of science. Among the latter are works on comparative anatomist Georges Cuvier; bookdealer, publisher, and secret agent Louis Renard; and Swedish naturalist Peter Artedi.

Foreword by François J. Meunier translated in English by Fanja Andriamialisoa

Volume's quote :

Pietsch (Theodore W.), Charles Plumier (1646-1704) and His Drawings of French and Caribbean Fishes / Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2017, 408 p. (Des Planches et des Mots ; 6).

Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles Price :
89,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles


en fr Tome 6
Theodore W. PIETSCH

Publié le 13 octobre 2017

Jamais un homme ne s’est autant vu refuser une place dans l’histoire que Charles Plumier. Artisan, dessinateur et graveur, mieux connu pour son œuvre de botaniste, Plumier a consacré la plus grande partie de sa vie à recueillir et dessiner des plantes et des animaux. Précédant de près d’un siècle les grands naturalistes du dix-huitième siècle dont les descriptions de nombreux nouveaux organismes ont inondé l’Europe à cette époque, le principal mérite de l’apport de Charles Plumier à la botanique et à la zoologie a été attribué à d’autres. Né à Marseille en 1646, Charles Plumier fut d’abord formé par les religieux du Couvent des Minimes aux mathématiques et aux sciences physiques, mais il se tourna rapidement vers l’histoire naturelle, se lançant dans l’étude de la botanique avec un grand enthousiasme. Il impressionna tellement ses supérieurs, tant par ses talents de botaniste que de dessinateur et de graveur qu’il fut engagé, en 1689, comme naturaliste à bord d’une expédition vers les possessions françaises des Antilles pour collecter des spécimens d’histoire naturelle. L’immense succès de son voyage, suivi par deux expéditions aux Antilles, lui assura un revenu à vie et lui valut le titre de Botaniste du roi. Souvent malade et toujours préoccupé par l’édition de son œuvre, le père Plumier passa les dernières années de sa vie dans la cellule du Couvent des Minimes de la Place royale de Paris à compiler ses notes et ses dessins et à préparer ses manuscrits pour l’édition. Alors qu’il avait entrepris un voyage vers le Pérou pour identifier l’arbre qui produit de la quinine, il fut victime d’une attaque de pleurésie et mourut le 20 novembre 1704 à l’âge de 58 ans. L’héritage de Charles Plumier s’incarne dans un corpus considérable de dessins toujours conservé dans les collections de la Bibliothèque centrale du Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle à Paris. Si ses contributions à la botanique ont été étudiées de façon assez détaillée et un certain nombre de ses dessins de plante ont été publiés, son influence sur la zoologie a été relativement peu explorée et ses dessins zoologiques sont restés largement inédits jusqu’à présent. Cet ouvrage, le premier d’une série de monographies à paraître sur Plumier, a été conçu pour mettre en lumière l’œuvre exceptionnelle de Plumier et donner une nouvelle vie à des images qui ont été quasiment invisibles depuis plus de trois siècles.

Théodore W. Pietsch est professeur émérite à la School of Aquatic and Fisheries Sciences, et conservateur émérite au Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, deux institutions de l’Université de Washington. Ses recherches concernent principalement l’ichtyologie marine, plus particulièrement la phylogénie, l’histoire de l’évolution, la morphologie fonctionnelle et la biologie reproductive des poissons téléostéens. Il est également l’auteur d’un grand nombre de publications dans le domaine de l’histoire des sciences, parmi lesquelles des ouvrages sur l’anatomiste Georges Cuvier, sur le libraire, éditeur et agent secret Louis Renard, et sur le naturaliste suédois Peter Artedi.

Préface de François J. Meunier ; traduit en français par Agathe Larcher-Goscha

Citation du tome :

Pietsch (Theodore W.), Charles Plumier (1646-1704) and His Drawings of French and Caribbean Fishes / Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2017, 408 p. (Des Planches et des Mots ; 6).

Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles Prix :
89,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage