Home

Historical Portrait of the Progress of Ichthyology

from Its Origins to Our Own Time

en fr Volume 29
Georges CUVIER

To be published on 29 January 2020

A founder of comparative anatomy and a giant of nineteenth-century biology, Georges Cuvier, and his student and colleague Achille Valenciennes, brought together all that was known about fishes in their massive 22-volume Histoire naturelle des poissons published from 1828 to 1849. Despite the passage of time, this work represents a landmark in the history of science, indispensable to systematic ichthyology and to comparative biology in general. As an introduction to this monumental work, the first volume traces the development of the study of fishes as then understood—from the earliest beginnings to the first third of the nineteenth-century—and summarizes the criteria for classification that their own work would follow. This critically important essay—one of the first attempts at a comprehensive history of any major group of organisms—now appears in English alongside the original French text, beautifully illustrated and accompanied by rich annotations and commentary, serving to bring this important text to our attention and highlighting its historical significance.

Theodore W. Pietsch is Professor Emeritus in the School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, and Curator Emeritus of Fishes at the Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, University of Washington. His primary interests are in ichthyology, focusing on the evolutionary history, functional morphology, and reproductive biology of marine fishes, but also in the history of ichthyology and the history of science in general. He is the author of more than twenty books, including The Curious Death of Peter Artedi: A Mystery in the History of Science, Tropical Fishes of the East Indies, Oceanic Anglerfishes: Extraordinary Diversity in the Deep-Sea, and Charles Plumier (1646-1704) and His Drawings of French and Caribbean Fishes.

edited by Theodore W. Pietsch

Volume's quote :
Cuvier (Georges), Historical Portrait of the Progress of Ichthyology from Its Origins to Our Own Time / Tableau ­historique des progrès de l’ichtyologie depuis son ­origine jusqu’à nos jours [edited by / nouvelle édition de Pietsch Theodore W.], Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2020, 670 p. (Archives ; 29).
* To see the promotions applied to this product, add it to your cart (see "My cart")
Tableau ­historique des progrès de l’ichtyologie
Product unavailable
Browse the book

Accueil

Tableau ­historique des progrès de l’ichtyologie

depuis son ­origine jusqu’à nos jours

en fr Tome 29
Georges CUVIER

Publié le 29 janvier 2020

Fondateur de l’anatomie comparée et figure centrale de la biologie du xixe siècle, Georges Cuvier a réuni avec l’aide de son élève et collègue Achille ­Valenciennes tout ce que l’on savait sur les ­poissons dans leur imposante Histoire naturelle des poissons publiée en 22 ­volumes de 1828 à 1849. ­Malgré les années, ce travail demeure un jalon dans l’histoire des sciences et continue à être mobilisé par l’ichtyologie systématique et la biologie comparée en général. En guise d’introduction à cette œuvre monumentale, le premier volume retrace l’évolution de l’étude des poissons telle qu’elle était alors comprise — depuis les tout débuts jusqu’au premier tiers du xixe siècle — et résume les critères de classification que suivraient leurs propres travaux. Cuvier se fait donc ici historien de sa propre science. Cet essai d’une importance cruciale — l’une des premières tentatives d’histoire complète d’un grand groupe d’organismes — est publié dorénavant en anglais en plus du texte français original, magnifiquement illustré et accompagné de riches annotations et commentaires, servant à porter à notre attention ce texte majeur tout en soulignant son importance historique.

Théodore W. Pietsch est professeur émérite à la School of Aquatic and Fisheries Sciences, et conservateur émérite au Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, deux institutions de l’Université de Washington. Expert en ichtyologie, il s’intéresse plus particulièrement à l’histoire de l’évolution, à la morphologie fonctionnelle et à la biologie de la reproduction des poissons marins. Ses centres d’intérêt couvrent également l’histoire de l’ichtyologie et l’histoire des sciences en général. Il est l’auteur de nombreux ouvrages, dont Les planches inédites de poissons et autres animaux marins de l’Indo-Ouest Pacifique d’Isaac Johannes Lamotius et Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles, déjà édités par les Publications scientifiques du Muséum.

Nouvelle édition de Théodore W. Pietsch ; traduction de la préface et des notes par Fanja Andriamialisoa

Citation du tome :
Cuvier (Georges), Historical Portrait of the Progress of Ichthyology from Its Origins to Our Own Time / Tableau ­historique des progrès de l’ichtyologie depuis son ­origine jusqu’à nos jours [edited by / nouvelle édition de Pietsch Theodore W.], Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2020, 670 p. (Archives ; 29).
* Pour voir les promotions appliquées à ce produit, ajoutez-le à votre panier (voir "Mon panier")
Tableau ­historique des progrès de l’ichtyologie
Nombre de pages : 670
ISBN : 9782856538876
Feuilleter l'ouvrage