Home

Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences

twenty lessons from the first half of the Eighteenth Century

en fr Volume 26
Edited by : Theodore W. PIETSCH

Published on 29 June 2018

Here, for the first time in English, is Georges Cuvier’s extraordinary “History of the Natural Sciences from Its Origin to the Present Day.” Based on a series of public lectures presented by Cuvier from 1829 to 1832, this third of a five-volume series, translated from the original French and heavily annotated with commentary, is a detailed chronological survey of the natural sciences spanning roughly fifty years, from the close of the seventeenth century to approximately 1750. It is truly astonishing in its detail and scope. Cuvier was fluent in many languages, English, German, Spanish, and certainly Latin, in addition to French. He was therefore well prepared to investigate and interpret firsthand the scientific literature of Europe as a whole. The work is an affirmation of Cuvier’s vast encyclopedic knowledge, his complete command of the scientific and historical literature, and his incomparable memory. This history is remarkable also for providing in one place a large set of useful references to a vast ancient literature that is not easily found anywhere else. This huge body of information provides us furthermore with unique insight into Cuvier’s concept of the natural sciences, and to the vast breadth and progress of this human endeavor. With this work, Cuvier fills an important gap in philosophical thought between the time of Carl Linnaeus and Charles Darwin.

Theodore W. Pietsch is Professor Emeritus in the School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, and Curator Emeritus of Fishes at the Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, University of Washington. His primary interests are in ichthyology, focusing on the evolutionary history, functional morphology, and reproductive biology of marine fishes, but also in the history of ichthyology and the history of science in general. He is the author of more than a twenty books, including The Curious Death of Peter Artedi: A Mystery in the History of Science, Tropical Fishes of the East Indies, Oceanic Anglerfishes: Extraordinary Diversity in the Deep-Sea, and Charles Plumier (1646-1704) and His Drawings of French and Caribbean Fishes.

Edited and annotated by Theodore W. Pietsch; Foreword by Pietro Corsi; Translated from French by Fanja Andriamialisoa.

Volume's quote :

Pietsch (Theodore W.) (ed.), Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences: twenty lessons from the first half of the Eighteenth Century / L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier : vingt leçons sur la première moitié du dix-huitième siècle, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2018, 576 p. (Archives ; 26).

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier Price :
45,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier

vingt leçons sur la première moitié du dix-huitième siècle

en fr Tome 26
Coordonné par : Theodore W. PIETSCH

À paraître 29 juin 2018

« L’histoire des sciences naturelles depuis leur origine jusqu’à nos jours » est présentée ici pour la première fois en édition bilingue. Ce volume, amplement annoté et commenté, est le troisième d’une série de cinq tomes regroupant les cours professés par Georges Cuvier de 1829 à 1832. Cette étude de grande envergure couvre de manière chronologique ­l’histoire des sciences naturelles sur plus de cinquante années et s’étend de la fin du XVIIe siècle à environ 1750. Le lecteur a ainsi accès à l’atelier historique de Georges Cuvier. Loin d’être une activité lui paraissant annexe au regard de ses travaux d’anatomiste, Cuvier y consacra un temps important, consultant de très nombreux ouvrages en de multiples langues (anglais, allemand, espagnol, latin, français). Elle lui conférait aussi une grande notoriété. Prononcées au Collège de France, ces leçons s’adressaient à un public large et consacraient son magistère sur les sciences naturelles de l’époque. Cuvier y présentait l’histoire des sciences comme une marche continue dont il scandait le développement. Il considérait les siècles ici étudiés comme une période de profonds changements. Louant la lutte contre les « dogmatismes » religieux, il en faisait le vecteur d’une nouvelle liberté de pensée et d’écrire. Reléguant l’étude des anciens, les sciences naturelles seraient ainsi entrées dans un nouvel âge, celui de l’observation et de la classification.

Théodore W. Pietsch est professeur émérite à la School of Aquatic and Fisheries Sciences, et conservateur émérite au Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, deux institutions de l’Université de Washington. Expert en ichtyologie, il s’intéresse plus particulièrement à l’histoire de l’évolution, à la morphologie fonctionnelle et à la biologie de la reproduction des poissons marins. Ses centres d’intérêt couvrent également l’histoire de l’ichtyologie et l’histoire des sciences en général. Il est l’auteur de nombreux ouvrages, dont Les planches inédites de poissons et autres animaux marins de l’Indo-Ouest Pacifique d’Isaac Johannes Lamotius et Charles Plumier (1646-1704) et ses dessins de poissons de France et des Antilles, déjà édités par les Publications Scientifiques du Muséum.

Nouvelle édition de Theodore W. Pietsch ; Préface de Pietro Corsi ; Traduction de la préface et des notes par Agathe Larcher-Goscha

Citation du tome :

Pietsch (Theodore W.) (ed.), Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences: twenty lessons from the first half of the Eighteenth Century / L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier : vingt leçons sur la première moitié du dix-huitième siècle, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2018, 576 p. (Archives ; 26).

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier Prix :
45,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage