Home

Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences

twenty-four lessons from Antiquity to the Renaissance

fr en Volume 16
Edited by : Theodore W. PIETSCH

Published on 19 March 2012

Here, for the first time in English, is Georges Cuvier’s extraordinary “History of the Natural Sciences from Its Origin to the Present Day.” Based on a series of public lectures presented by Cuvier from 1829 to 1832, this first of a five-volume series, translated from the original French and heavily annotated with commentary, is a detailed chronological survey of the natural sciences spanning more than three millennia. It is truly astonishing in its detail and scope. Cuvier was fluent in many languages, English, German, Spanish, and certainly Latin, in addition to French. He was therefore well prepared to investigate and interpret firsthand the scientific literature of Europe as a whole. The work is an affirmation of Cuvier’s vast encyclopedic knowledge, his complete command of the scientific and historical literature, and his incomparable memory. This history is remarkable also for providing in one place a large set of useful references to a vast ancient literature that is not easily found anywhere else. This huge body of information provides us furthermore with unique insight into Cuvier’s concept of the natural sciences, and to the vast breadth and progress of this human endeavor. With this work, Cuvier fills an important gap in philosophical thought between the time of Carl Linnaeus and Charles Darwin.

Theodore W. Pietsch is Dorothy T. Gilbert Professor in the School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, and Curator of Fishes at the Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, at the University of Washington in Seattle, where he has spent most of his career mentoring graduate students and teaching marine biology to undergraduates. His primary interests are in ichthyology, focusing on the evolutionary history, functional morphology, and reproductive biology of marine fishes, but also in the history of ichthyology and the history of science in general. He is the author of more than a dozen books, including The Curious Death of Peter Artedi: A Mystery in the History of Science, Tropical Fishes of the East Indies, and Oceanic Anglerfishes: Extraordinary Diversity in the Deep-Sea.

Edited and annotated by Theodore W. Pietsch; Foreword by Philippe Taquet, President of the Académie des Sciences; Translated from French by Abby J. Simpson.

Volume's quote :

Pietsch (Theodore W.) (ed.), Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences: twenty-four lessons from Antiquity to the Renaissance / L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier : vingt-quatre leçons de l'Antiquité à la Renaissance, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2012, 734 p. (Archives ; 16).

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier Price :
49,00 €

Browse the book

Accueil

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier

vingt-quatre leçons de l'Antiquité à la Renaissance

fr en Tome 16
Coordonné par : Theodore W. PIETSCH

Publié le 19 mars 2012

« L'histoire des sciences naturelles depuis leur origine jusqu'à nos jours » est présenté ici pour la première fois en édition bilingue. Ce volume, amplement annoté et commenté, est le premier d'une série de cinq tomes regroupant les cours professés par Georges Cuvier de 1829 à 1832. Cette étude, éblouissante par son envergure et son degré de précision, couvre de manière chronologique l'histoire des sciences naturelles sur une période de plus de trois millénaires. Cuvier parlait couramment plusieurs langues, notamment l'anglais, l'allemand, l'espagnol, et le latin. Il était donc bien préparé pour rechercher des documents de première main et interpréter la littérature scientifique européenne. Cet ouvrage témoigne de la connaissance encyclopédique de Cuvier, de son expertise en matière de littérature scientifique et historique, et de son incroyable mémoire. En outre, cet ouvrage se réfère à un riche corpus de littérature ancienne qu'il est difficile de trouver ailleurs. Cette extraordinaire mine d'information donne ainsi un aperçu unique du concept des sciences naturelles vu par Cuvier et de l'envergure et du progrès de cette entreprise humaine. Grâce à cette œuvre, Cuvier comble une lacune importante dans l'histoire de la pensée philosophique, entre Carl von Linné et Charles Darwin.

Theodore W. Pietsch est professeur au département des Sciences Aquatiques et de la Pêche, lauréat de la fondation Dorothy T. Gilbert, et conservateur de la Collection de Poissons du Muséum d'Histoire naturelle Burke de l'Université de Washington à Seattle où il a passé la plupart de sa carrière à conseiller les étudiants en doctorat et à enseigner la biologie marine aux étudiants de premier cycle d'université. Expert en ichtyologie, il s'intéresse plus particulièrement à l'histoire de l'évolution, à la morphologie fonctionnelle et à la biologie de la reproduction des poissons marins. Ses centres d'intérêt couvrent également l'histoire de l'ichtyologie et l'histoire des sciences en général. Il est l'auteur de plus d'une douzaine d'ouvrages, dont Les Planches inédites de poissons et autres animaux marins de l'Indo-Ouest Pacifique d'Isaac Johannes Lamotius, déjà publié aux Publications Scientifiques du Muséum.

"Nouvelle édition de Theodore W. Pietsch ; Préface de Philippe Taquet, Président de l’Académie des Sciences ; Traduction en français de l’appareil critique par Beatrice Marx & Éric Andret."

Citation du tome :

Pietsch (Theodore W.) (ed.), Cuvier's History of the Natural Sciences: twenty-four lessons from Antiquity to the Renaissance / L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier : vingt-quatre leçons de l'Antiquité à la Renaissance, Paris : Muséum national d'Histoire naturelle, 2012, 734 p. (Archives ; 16).

L'histoire des sciences naturelles de Cuvier Prix :
49,00 €

Feuilleter l'ouvrage